Customize Requirement & Risk Fields

Add custom requirement types and risk classifications to a project.

TestMonitor comes with four default requirements types: Business, User, Functional, and Non-functional. There are three default risk classifications: Low, Medium, and High. You can add custom requirement types and risk classifications to your project.

Overview page

To view and customize types and classifications, click the Cog in the header. The Settings page displays.

On the left side of the Settings page, click Requirements & Risks below the FIELDS & CUSTOMIZING menu heading. This is where you manage requirements types and risk classifications in the TestMonitor environment.

The overview page shows all the existing types or classifications, their name, and color. The page shows both default and custom fields added to the TestMonitor environment.

Adding a custom field

To create a new requirement type, click the Add Type button in the top right corner of the Requirements Types tab. Click the Add Classification button on the tab Risk Classifications.

A pop-up box displays. Fill in the following fields:

  • Name (required)

    A short, clear name.

  • Color (required)

    Select a color.

Click Save, or Cancel to go back to the overview page.

Updating a custom field

It is not possible to update the default requirement types and risk classifications.

You can edit a custom field's name and color. Move the cursor over a field. A Pencil icon displays. Click a field and then edit the text.

Click Save, or Cancel to discard the changes.

Deleting a custom field

It is not possible to delete default requirements types or risk classifications.

To remove a custom type or classification, click cross button and then Delete in the confirmation box.

Using custom fields

To use custom requirement types or risk classifications, you need to add them to a project.

Click the Cog in the header. On the Settings page, click Projects. On the Projects overview page, click a project name or arrow button.

On the left side menu, click Requirements or Risks. A list of default and custom types or classifications displays.

To activate a field, click the plus symbol. To deactivate a field, click the cross symbol.