Manage Your Roles

Add, delete, and customize user role settings.

TestMonitor has a powerful roles and permissions system that allows administrators to grant, limit, or restrict user access to a project. TestMonitor comes with predefined roles that typically fit most project needs. You can add custom roles with preferred permissions. 

Roles overview

To view and customize user permissions, click the Cog in the header. The Settings page displays.

On the left side of the Settings page, click Roles below the USERS & SECURITY menu heading. This is where you manage roles in your TestMonitor environment.

The Roles overview page shows all current roles, including default and custom roles. 

settings-roles

Click the Cog near the list of roles to customize column display on the page. 

settings-roles-columns-cogbutton

Add a role

To create a new role, click the Add Role button in the top right corner of the Roles overview page. 

A pop-up box displays. 

settings-roles-add-role-popup

 

Fill in the following fields:

  • Name (required)

    A short, clear name that describes the scope or function.

  • Description (optional)

    Detailed information about the role.

Click Save, or Cancel to go back to the Roles overview page.

Viewing role details

After you save a role, go to the Role Details page to set permissions. To open the Role Details page, go to the Roles overview page and then click the role name or arrow button. 

settings-role-delete

 

You can access the following information:

  • Details

    The name and description of the role.

  • Permissions
    Shows all available and selected permissions.

Updating a role

You can change information on the Role Details page. Move the cursor over a field. A Pencil icon displays. Click a field and then edit the text.

Click Save, or Cancel to discard the changes.

To update the permissions, select and deselect the boxes next to the permissions. Changes save automatically.

Deleting a role

To remove a role, open its Details page and then click the three dots in the top right corner of the page.

Click Delete in the pop-up box and then Delete in the confirmation box.

 

It is not possible to update or delete the default roles. The default roles are Tester, Test manager, Developer, and Auditor.


Assigning roles to users

To assign roles, go to Projects in theSettings menu. Click the project name or arrow button to open the Project Details page. Click Members in the left menu.

To add a user, click the Add Member button in the top right corner of the Members overview page. 

A pop-up box displays. Select the member and the appropriate role(s). You can assign one or more roles to a user.

settings-project-add-member-popup-1


Click the Add Member button to save, or Cancel to go back to the previous page. 

Users with an Admin account are automatically assigned to all projects. They don't need roles to access projects.