Manage Your Users

Add, delete, and customize user settings.

Introduction

To give people access to TestMonitor, you can create accounts.

To create a user account, click the Cog in the header. The Settings page displays.

menu-cogbutton-settings-1

 

On the left side of the Settings page, click Users below the USERS & SECURITY menu heading. This is where you manage users in the TestMonitor environment.

Users overview

The Users overview page shows all the users in your TestMonitor environment, including their name, email, and teams.

Click the Filter icon on the left side of the Users overview page to filter teams, admin users, and trashed users. Click the Cog near the list of users to customize column display on the page. 

Inviting a User

To add a new user, click the Invite User in the top right of the Users overview page. 

A pop-up box displays. 

settings-users-invite-user-popup

 

To invite a new user, fill in the following fields:

  • First and last name (required)

    First and last name of the user. TestMonitor uses this information to identify users.

  • Email (required)
    The user’s email address. This is part of the user login.

  • Administrator (optional)

    If the user is an Administrator, toggle on the Administrator switch.

    In TestMonitor, administrators have full access throughout the application. They are no role or permission limits. Only Administrators can create new users with administrator status. Only assign Administrator status to users who need it. Remember, with great power comes great responsibility.

Click Save, or Cancel to go back to the Users overview page.

Adding a User

To add a new user, click the Add User button in the top right of the Users overview page. 

A pop-up box displays. 


Fill in the following fields:

  • First and last name (required)

    First and last name of the user. TestMonitor uses this information to identify users.

  • Email (required)
    The user’s email address. This is part of the user login.

  • Password (required)
    The user’s password. The password should at least contain 8 characters, one uppercase letter, one number, and one special character.

  • Teams (optional)

    The user’s teams.

  • Administrator (optional)

    If the user is an administrator, toggle on the Administrator switch.

    In TestMonitor, administrators have full access throughout the application. They are no role or permission limits. Only Administrators can create new users with administrator status. Only assign Administrator status to users who need it. Remember, with great power comes great responsibility.

Click Save, or Cancel to go back to the Users overview page.

Viewing user details

To view information about a user, open the Users Details page. On the Users overview page, click a user name or the arrow button. The Users Details page shows all user information, memberships, tasks, and a full audit trail.


Page components

  • Details

    First and last name, email, administrator access, and teams. 

  • Memberships
    Shows user access to projects and their roles.

  • Tasks
    Shows user task assignments. 

  • Activities

    All Activities for each object in TestMonitor are logged. 

Updating a user

You can change user information by opening the Users Details page. Move the cursor over a field. A Pencil icon displays. Click a field and then edit the text.

Click Save, or Cancel to discard the changes.

You can reset a user's password on the Users Details page. Click the Reset Password button in the top right corner of the page.


A pop-up box displays. Enter a new password. Click Reset to save, or Cancel to discard the changes. 

You can also mark tasks as complete on the Users Details page.

Updating multiple users

TestMonitor allows you to batch-edit users. On the Users overview page, move the cursor over a user and check the box on the left. Select additional users, if required. Select all by checking the box in the table header. Click on the green multi-select button in the toolbar and then select a batch action.

The batch-edit function offers the following action:

  • Delete

    Click Delete to remove all the selected users.

Deleting a user

To remove a user, open the user's Details page and then click the three dots in the top right corner of the page.

Click Delete in the pop-up box and then Delete in the confirmation box.


Restoring trashed users

Go to the Users overview page and then toggle on the Trashed Users filter.

Locate the item you want to restore and click the arrow button. Click Restore in the confirmation box. The user now displays on the Users overview page.