Risks Settings

Define project hazards that can guide testing.

Introduction

Risks define project hazards that can be used to direct your testing effort. To create risks, click Define > Risks in the header.

Each project needs its own set of risks. Make sure a project exists or create one to continue.

Using risks is slightly less common than requirements to assert testing coverage. However, they can greatly improve your testing efficiency and overall project success rate.

Functionality overview

The Risks overview page provides a list of defined risks for the active project. The name, risk classification, and linked test cases are shown. The Filter icon on the left side of the page opens the filter side panel.

Use the Search field next to the Filter icon to find a risk that matches your search parameters.

Click the Cog button on the right side of the page to edit column display.

risks

Using filters

The filter side panel on the left provides the following:

  • Classification

    The risk level (e.g. low, medium or high).

  • Tags

    Show risks marked with a specific label.

  • Updated

    Show risks updated during a specific time frame.

  • Trashed Risks

    Show only the trashed risks.

Customizing filter settings

Click the Cog button next to the Filter icon to hide or unhide filter fields. Use multiple filters to combine criteria like Classification and Tags.

Click Save filter to reuse frequently used combinations. 

A pop-up box displays. Enter a name and then click Save

Naam filter EN

Choose Reset to deactivate all set filters.

Configuring column display

NameClassification, and Test Cases are the default display columns on the Risks overview page.

To customize column visibility, click the Cog button in the top right corner of the page. The other columns are TagsCreated, and Updated. Choose Reset to default to revert to the initial state.

risks-columns-cogbutton

Adding a risk

Click Add Risk in the top right corner of the Risks overview page to create a new risk. 

risks-add-requirement-button

A pop-up box displays. Specify the risk properties.

risks-add-risk-popup

A risk contains the following fields:

  • Classification (optional)

    The risk level (i.e. low, medium, high).

  • Name (required)

    A short, clear label.

  • Description (optional)
    Provide details about the risk.

  • Tags (optional)

    The tag(s) connected to the risk.

Click Save, or Cancel to return to the Risks overview page.

Linking a risk to a test case

You can link risks to test cases on the Test Case Detail page.

To locate a test case:

  1. Click Design in the header. The Test Suites overview page displays.

  2. Click the name of the test suite that contains the test case, or click the arrow button.

  3. Click the name of the test case or click the arrow button. Now you're on the Test Case Details page.

Click the Risks tab. Move the cursor over a field under the tab. A Pencil icon displays. Click a field. A pop-up box displays. Select the risk you want to link to the test case. 

Click Save, or Cancel to discard the changes.

test-case-link-risk-popup

Viewing risk details

To open the Risk Details page, click Define > Risks on the header.

Click the name of a risk or the arrow button. The Risk Details page shows all risk properties, linked test cases, and a full audit trail.

risk

  • Details
    This block contains every risk property, including the classification and tags. 

  • Description
    Shows details if added when the risk was created. 

  • Test Cases

    Shows all linked test cases under the Test Cases tab. Click a Code or the arrow button to view details.

  • Activities
    All activities for each object are logged.

Updating a risk

Edit a risk on the Details page. Move the cursor over a detail. A Pencil icon displays. Click a field. A pop-up box displays. Select the risk you want to update.

Click Save, or Cancel to discard changes.

Deleting a risk

You can delete a risk by clicking the three dots in the top right corner of its Details page.

Click Delete and a confirmation box displays. Click Delete again.

After you delete a risk, its relationship to test cases is removed and you can't use it as a filter.

Updating multiple risks

You can batch-edit risks. On the Risks overview page, move the cursor over a risk and then check the box. Select additional risks, if required. To select all, check the box in the table header.

Click the green multi-select button in the toolbar and then select a batch action.

risks-batch-edit

The batch-edit function offers the following actions:

  • Update

    Change the Classification and/or Tags. After you click Update, a pop-up box displays. Change the Classification and/or Tags for all selected risks.

  • Delete

    Select Delete to remove the selected risks from the project.

Restoring trashed risks

Open the Risks overview page and toggle on the Trashed Risks switch. You can also restore a trashed risk by clicking the Restore arrow button at the right end of the risk line and then Restore in the confirmation box. 

risks-trashed-requirements